General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Questions about Triathlon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2018-02-06 4:25 AM

Subject: Questions about Triathlon
Hey all, I am new with this sport and have a few questions (biking) about what happens and what to do at certain situation in an event.

1) Would a 700 x 23c bike be fit enough for the event? I'm afraid I might pop the inner-tube during the course. Also I'll like recommendations on what brand I should consider for inner tubes.

2) In a situation where my inner tube pops during the race, am I disqualified or do I replace the tube (requiring to bring my toolkit)?

I hope you guys can give me hand with the introduction to the triathlon game.
Thanks

2018-02-06 8:12 AM
in reply to: Minjun

User image

Haymarket, VA
Subject: RE: Questions about Triathlon

My tri bike has a 700 x 23 tire and has served me quite well through several seasons, so you should be fine as well.  As for if your inner tube pops, you are certainly welcome to change it and continue racing.  The only stipulation/restriction when it comes to these sort of things is that you can't accept outside support.  So no-one can hand you a spare inner tube, no-one can help you change the tire, etc.  The only exception to this rule is if the event has specific mobile bike support.  In that situation you may accept help from them.  

2018-02-06 12:14 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Champion
Columbia, South Carolina

700x23 is fine.  You'll see plenty of them at races.