General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Started Running!....now I have a few questions... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-02-23 6:00 PM

St Louis, MO
Subject: Started Running!....now I have a few questions...
So i officially started my running program earlier this week, and being a complete newb, I think i should ask some questions....

The way I have been going about it sofar is to head over to my local track, stretch for 10min before, walk 1 lap (1/4mi), run 1, repeat, then stretch again when Im done. I figured id start off easy and do 2 miles each session this week, then maybe up it a bit more next week, maybe walk 1, run 2, repeat. (physically i have plenty of endurance since I race road bikes, i just dont want to hurt anything prematurely).

My questions are....is this appropriate or should I try something else?

Also, places I need to figure out how to improve on; the first two laps or so it seems like there is a little tingle of pain in the front of my shin when that foot lands on the ground, but it goes away after a few laps....and then after a few laps, whatever muscle that is on the outside of your thigh, directly above your kneecap (my left in this case), seems to have a little pain as well....is this normal to beginning, should I be stretching something in particular, or do these muscles just need to get a bit stronger before i start upping the milage?

Thanks for everyones help,

Doug

2007-02-23 6:13 PM
in reply to: #701440

User image

Master
Seattle, California
Subject: RE: Started Running!....now I have a few questions...

You will probably get a bunch of different answers and I'll address one part of your question but don't really feel qualified to answer the pain part.