General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Hurricane Charley...A plea to all triathletes. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-08-23 10:53 AM

User image

Elite
Venture Industries,
Subject: Hurricane Charley...A plea to all triathletes.
Hello everyone:

My last day of training was Thursday August 12, a short bike ride. Then Charley hit my home town. Yes I'm in Port Charlotte Florida and the eye of the hurricane went right over the harbor.

I'm sure most of you saw the coverage on the various networks, but the pictures that you saw cannot begin to convey the absolute and total devestation this small county has suffered. As I drove around the county it doesn't appear that a single street escaped the ravages of the storm. I am at work right now and I have power as my job is considered an esential fascitlity (I'm a prosecuting attorney and work in the court house), however the majority of the county is still without power, despite power crews from around the country working around the clock.

My gym lost its roof, and the two local bike shops are gone. When I say gone I mean that there isn't even a trace of the buildings. ( I had just saved enough to buy a bike, I guess I'm going to have to take my chances on something over the net) The YMCA was damaged so I can't use the pool, it is imposible to run due to the amount of trees, debris and power lines in the roads.

But I was lucky my house suffered only minor damage and my family is fine, I sent my wife and daughter to Orlando to stay with her sister until we get power back.