General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Calories needed vs fat storage Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-07-10 9:45 AM

User image

New user

Jonesboro, Arkansas
Subject: Calories needed vs fat storage
I started a very low calorie diet last October at 355 pounds. I started training for a December 5 K by walking. This weekend I will compete in my second triathlon and first olympic distance event after losing over 120 pounds and still going. I have really had a tough time balancing calories for workouts and being healthy with limiting calories for weight loss. I asked my doctor and he basically told me I had plenty of reserve and not to worry about it too much, but that was 100 pounds ago. I was wondering do you really need less calories to workout the more fat you have? I guess it would make sense that if you have it in storage you will use it first.

I love this lifestyle and all the new friends and experiances that have come with it and look forward to getting a little more weight off and continuing along this journey. My golf game sucks now, but I am enjoying life much more. Sorry to ramble, just wondering about thoughts on the calorie thing verses fat storage.

2007-07-10 10:48 AM
in reply to: #878861

User image

Sensei
Sin City
Subject: RE: Calories needed vs fat storage
I'm no MD, but this is what I understand:

As we all know, we need to burn more than we take in to lose weight. However, if you reduce calories too much (under 1200 per day I understand for men) metabolism shuts down to a crawl and your body will start to consume muscle to survive. This is NOT the kind of weight loss you would want - especially as an athlete.

This is how we get our energy (in two different ways)

Carbohydrates ? glucose ? pyruvate ? acetyl-CoA
OR
Lipids (fat) ? fatty acids + glycerol ? acetyl-CoA

No where from stored fat do you get the essential nutrients your body needs - it is JUST an energy source.