General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » I'm new to Tri and fatigued Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-10-06 5:22 PM

User image

Folsom, CA
Subject: I'm new to Tri and fatigued
Hello everyone...the tri bug bit me @ a year ago. I'm 38 & was completely out of shape-so I trained hard for and completed my first Sprint in August of this year. No problem with motivation but I get really tired at night and sometimes during the day. Currently I'm Running 3 times per week (@5K each time) and swimming (@3,000yds) and biking (@20 miles) once per week each.

Am I overtraining? I'm going to run a 10K in November and then do 3-4 events next year.

2004-10-06 5:32 PM
in reply to: #69943

Online or Offline
Subject: RE: I'm new to Tri and fatigued

Hi Dave!

It does not sound like you are overtraining to me, but your training does not really look balanced, is that due to logistics? Do you swim 3000yds/week or 3000 yds/3x week?

Anyway, maybe you could look at your diet (do you take a multivitamin and intake enough calories?) and your sleep quality? How out of shape were you before you started training, and what were the results of your sprint?

Congratulations on the hard work, and welcome to BT!

2004-10-06 5:44 PM
in reply to: #69946

User image

Folsom, CA
Type A Girl Pilot,

I'm smimming 3,000 yds once a week, biking once a week and running 3 times a week. My tri-time was 1:58, slower than I thought it'd be, mostly due to the run (I didn't have any legs). I've never been a runner-so now I'm trying to focus on building that up.

I'm 6 foot, 2 inches and weighed in at @245 a year ago. Now I'm @225 and fairly firm but would like to drop another 10-15??? I take a multivitamin and eat a well balanced diet-and then snack/overeat at night (need to stop) . I think I get enough sleep.

Maybe fatigue is just the way it is? Thanks for your feedback, any other thoughts are appreciated.

2004-10-06 5:59 PM

Online or Offline