General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » New baby, new wannabe triathlete Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-02-01 8:41 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Sylvania, OH
Subject: New baby, new wannabe triathlete
Hello!

I'm officially introducing myself. My name is Anne, and I just started training for my first tri- an all women's tri in July. My husband has done several duathlons and just did his first tri last summer (finally conquered the swim!). I've been a proud cheerleader for him and now he is cheering me on. He introduced me to BT and helped me come up with a training plan.

I have a five year old and a seven month old, so fitting in training is a challenge but definitely worth it. I'm really enjoying this process and am laughing at how little I know. But I am learning fast! My goal is to complete my triathlon and hopefully not crash my bike- either while training or while racing.

I'm taking it slow and watching my nutrition closely because I am a nursing mom. I'm wondering if there are any other beginners out there who have done this with the added challenge of having small children?

2008-02-01 9:52 AM
in reply to: #1188507

User image

Extreme Veteran
Longview
Subject: RE: New baby, new wannabe triathlete

Hi Anne!

When I started training for my first triathlon last year, my youngest was five months old...He is now 9 months old...I also have a 5yr old girl and 7 year old boy.

I laughed at your post, because one of my goals at my first tri ALSO was NOT to crash!  Luckily - I only crashed in training rides... 

You have the right ideas...take it slow..especially since you are nursing.  Any "shock" to your system affects milk supply...I'm sure you already know all this.