General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Anyone try Michael Pate's 22-week sprint plan? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-02-08 2:29 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Herriman, Utah
Subject: Anyone try Michael Pate's 22-week sprint plan?
Hey ... newbie here. I'm now in my fifth week of training for a May 31st sprint (400 swim, 20K bike, 5K run). I'm 5-8 and currently weigh about 261.3, give or take an ounce haha. In other words, I'm quite plump (though I've been plumper -- 371 at one point!)....

Anyway, I'm just wondering if anybody out there in Triland has given Mr. Pate's couch-to-sprint program a go? I look at where I'm at today and I've still got so far to go! It's overwhelming sometimes. I am encouraged at the progress I've been able to achieve so far. I guess I'm just curious if you think slowly adding time/speed/distance can get me from lazy couch potato to actually finishing a sprint triathlon in less than four months from now?

Maybe if you haven't done his training program but you have inspiration for me, that would be cool, too. Thanks!

2008-02-08 2:52 PM
in reply to: #1201716

User image

Champion
Ottawa, Ontario
Subject: RE: Anyone try Michael Pate's 22-week sprint plan?

I began my triathlon "career" as a plump would be triathlete in 2004 using Michael Pate's 20 week Sprint Triathlon plan.  I followed as closely as I could, building on it slowly and  was quite ready for my first ever sprint triathlon at the end of my training.  I have since followed the olympic program and half ironman program successfully and presume to work on my ironman training this season.