General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Enjoying the Journey Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-12-17 3:12 PM

User image

Ontario, Canada
Subject: Enjoying the Journey
Hello Everyone,

I've been racing triathlons for the last 14 years and prior to that I was a cat. IV racer in Canada. I've done a multitude of different types of races except an Ironman distance. My only experience with a 1/2 Ironman wasn't pleasant. Although I've been involved in triathlon and cycling for awhile I now have certain limitations. In 1996 after completing a 4 hour ride with my cycling club I returned home and begin to ill. I went to the hospital, still in my cycling gear and was informed that I just had a mild heart attack. Within the first hour in the hospital I don't know how many times I was asked if I was taking cocaine, steroids, blood doping, etc. I was 32. I thought that I was the picture of health. The one thing that you cannot change is your genetics. Mine suck. It took my awhile to gain the confidence once again to begin training. I'm now still continue a train 8 - 12 hours a week and hopefully will do my first ironman in '05 or '06. I've learned to lead a very structured training regiment that includes specific workouts, nutrition, massage, etc. I'm not as fast as I once was but I still enjoy competing and spending time with my tri friends. Prior to 1996 I was the typical type 'A' and my goal was to finish in the top five of my age group. Now I train to survive. It's still a part of my lifestyle and is important to my state of mind. I now enjoy the journey and the destination is just the icing on the cake.