General Discussion Triathlon Talk » swim with bad shoulder Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-04-06 1:17 PM

New user

Colorado
Subject: swim with bad shoulder

Just had my second shoulder surgery and still not fixed. Should I consider using the sidestroke/combat swimmer method or struggle with an inefficient crawl due to improper mechanics.

What difference in speed is there between the two strokes in general and does any one use the side stroke in an actual tri?

I'm just starting out training and used to be a semi-adequate swimmer but the shoulder has kept me from any real swimming for several years.

2008-04-06 1:45 PM
in reply to: #1318860

Vancouver, BC
Subject: RE: swim with bad shoulder
Are you talking about this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4lUHudMN1TU

I'd say you should rest your shoulder. The side stroke looks like it would be about as fast as breast stroke, maybe slightly faster.

2008-04-06 1:57 PM

New user

Colorado

Yes thats what I was thinking/talking about. The shoulder motion for that looks like it might work for me. I would obviously have to try it out. I'm not to that point yet because of the pain/stiffness still present but am close to be released by the doctor. I just wish they could figure out whats wrong.

Have you seen any one do that in a race? 2 min per hundred seems like that would be plenty fast enough to participate obviously its not winning time but that aint gonna happen anyway.

2008-04-06 2:10 PM
in reply to: #1318900

Vancouver, BC
I've never seen anyone do it in a race. I'd say if you're at a point where you have to use a modified stroke in a race then chances are you shouldn't be racing. There is too much temptation in the race to push through the pain.