General Discussion Triathlon Talk » BeginnerTriathlete.com: why not changing the name? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2008-04-14 5:03 PM

User image

Expert
Zürich, Switzerland
Subject: BeginnerTriathlete.com: why not changing the name?

Maybe I will be against most of you but I tell you what I think.

I really like this website, with forums, suggestions, articles, plans, ecc. and I think the target is not only a "beginner triathlete" as the name suggest but even advanced and expert people in this sport art. I would say that it is 50%-50% well split between beginners and advanced. 

Now, the reason behind I opened a thread is that I see that probably we can loose attention over new incoming contacts on the website. People tend to ignore the website because of the name. I noticed it suggesting to give a look to some of my tri colleagues and, not only one, said "ok I will see but I am not an expert but neither a beginner!". Then I had to explain that it is not only for beginners, it is for experts too, etc.

Probably some others are thinking the same and, googling, they will skip the website.

I am interested that BT goes ahead and gets better, improving and so on and I support it with gold membership even if I do not need it.

Why don't we change the name? Would you agree on that? Some more attracting URL name because, honestly, it is the only thing I do not like of the website and it would  have some impact Smile

2008-04-14 5:11 PM
in reply to: #1337621

User image

Veteran
Sterling, VA
Subject: RE: BeginnerTriathlete.com: why not changing the name?

You can make www.ubertriathlete.com redirect to the same site!

In all seriousness though, I wouldn't want to lose the BT name, though perhaps the "team" could be a "_____ sponsored by BT" type of affair.

Long live BT! 

2008-04-14 5:18 PM

User image

Expert
Virginia

as my granny would say - if it ain't broke, don't fix it!