General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hello from Korea! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-04-16 7:51 AM

User image

New user

Osan, AB Korea
Subject: Hello from Korea!

I am enlisted in the U.S. Air Force stationed in Korea.  I am new to the sport of triathlons and am looking for more people to train with in my area as well as making contacts for anywhere that my life or career might take me. 

A little about me, I'm a big guy to do the things that I do.  I'm 5'9" and 210 (and dropping!! Laughing).  I try to remain very active.  I am a physical training leader (PTL) and unit fitness program manager (UFPM) for my unit.  I am a third degree blackbelt in Korean Hapkido and I still regularlly practice as well as teach here on the Korean peninsula as well as abroad.  I have been running since high school, so my mechanics are pretty good, even though I gained some weight and lost some speed.  I also coach the Osan High School swim team. 

My main concern is getting back on a bike.  I've heard through some more experienced triathletes that you can gain quite a bit of time on the bike if you are experienced, so I'm going to focus on that the most.  Anyway, if there is anything I can do to help anyone out, let me know!  I hope to hear from some great people soon!

-Tim

2008-04-16 9:33 AM
in reply to: #1341277

User image

Master
Central, IL
Subject: RE: Hello from Korea!

Tim:

1st off - thank you for your service! 

2nd - welcome to BT.  You will find others with a similar story here.  BT is a great place to learn and to stay motivated.  Get familar with the logs, videos and articles posted here. 

Welcome and best wishes!   

2008-04-16 5:14 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran

Hi Tim,

Great to see another fellow martial artist on board Smile

WOW being in Korea and doing a Korean MA - that's pretty cool.