General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Racing in the rain Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-04-23 9:51 PM

Regular
Belvidere, IL
Subject: Racing in the rain
Hey, I have my first sprint tri this Sunday. The weather here in IL. has been B-E-A-UTIFUL for the past week, but wouldn't you know, it is supposed to be 50 degrees with rain for the race! I am so pi--ed off!!!! I am concerned about the biking. Will it run any different? Should I plan for some big changes in the ride, or will the bike perform well? I have been on my bike only 5 times outside (very late warmup here in Midwest), so I am new to the wet weather thing...YIKES!

2008-04-23 10:01 PM
in reply to: #1358575

Veteran
Boulder
Subject: RE: Racing in the rain
I don't believe it will be. Just remember to clean your bike after the race!Also remember that your cleats might be a little slippery on the wet asphalt. Whatever time you lose in the bike will be made up when you don't overheat in the run.Best of luck in the race!
2008-04-23 10:14 PM

There are a couple of things to watch out for when riding in the rain. Painted markings on the road are slippery so use some caution if you have to make a turn that has painted markings. Second the rails at railroad crossings will be sippery when wet. Your bike wheel can slip and put you down in a second if you are not careful and cross them at a close to a 90 degre angle.

In hard rains your visibilty and that of others is somewhat impaired, so if the course is open to traffic be extra careful.

Other then that enjoy the experience. It is like being a kid again playing in the rain. Just remember to clean your bike and lube the chaing afterward.
2008-04-23 10:23 PM

Dalton, GA
Rain is your friend. Well, make rain your friend because most everybody feels great when the weather is nice and not so good when the weather is crap.

2008-04-23 10:31 PM

User image

Expert
Traverse Cityish