General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Rotator Cuff Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-12-29 9:50 PM

New user
New York City
Subject: Rotator Cuff
I just came back from the doctor ( Ihad a "sore shoulder" for weeks) and was told I had a torn rotator cuff. You have no idea how upset I am about this. I just begun training on a new sport that Ive grown to respect and desire to compete in and now this..........SUCKS !
Anyway Im going for therapy on Friday and am applying to my insurance to see if they cover an MRI to get the fact and extent of damage. Will keep you posted

2005-01-01 6:51 PM
in reply to: #97125

User image

Master
Virginia Beach, VA
Subject: RE: Rotator Cuff
Sorry to hear about your shoulder. The good news is, if it's a small tear you have a good chance of improving with therapy. A bad tear usually takes surgery to fix. Good luck and let us know how you are doing.

Sue
2005-01-01 10:56 PM

User image

Veteran
New York City
I just started training as well and had some bad pain in my Rt. sholder back around Thanksgiving. I felt a "popping" in my sholder when swiming, had some brief pain and resumed swiming. A couple weeks after that I was reaching for the shower head and my sholder felt like it collapsed!!! I couldn't lift anything with my arm above my sholder for about three days. OOF... My doctor thinks that I may have done something to my Laiba (labial tear). I had a MRI Arthrogram (please forgive my spelling this is all new to me) last week and am gong to talk to my doctor on Tue. I have not swam for about 6 weeks, trying to give myself some space to recover (fingers crossed).
Participating in a tri sport has always been something I wanted to do. Am still hopeful I can do a spint in the spring or summer.
If you end up getting a MRI Arthrogram, let me know. It is not too bad..
good luck!!
2005-01-01 11:14 PM

User image

Veteran
New York City