General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Using Pilates for Strength/Weight Training/Balance/Flexibility!!! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-02-17 11:55 AM

Subject: Using Pilates for Strength/Weight Training/Balance/Flexibility!!!
:-) Hi everyone!
It's been a long time since I posted anything here...but I've been training, and going to school full-time, being a busy hockey-mom, volunteering etc.... I'de like to talk about training for a minute...strength training for triathlon. I have done the gammut of weight training in the past for sprint triathlon and you know...I agree that I need to do a bit of "pumping for quads, lats, and triceps...muscles particularly used in triathlon, however, I have been doing pilates on a regular basis for 2 months now, and I'm so impressed with the difference in my balance in the water, and my coordination when running. I feel so much more fluid. I also am gaining the benefits of creating a very strong core...and yeah my the shape of my abdomen is changing (more toned and flatter).. It's not the six pack look I am emphasizing here, cause that wasn't my goal in using pilates.. Anyways, I do three upper, three lower, and five abdominal workouts a week with pilates. The workouts are only twenty minutes long each, and I'm kind of putting my weights on the back burner. I actually feel stronger than I did when lifting weights. Is anybody out there doing the same thing? Does anyone have any suggestions or comments regarding what I'm saying here. I just wanted to share that I think I've found a great key to core training, and it works! It's also very relaxing at the same time. Well, take care everyone!!! I'll check in again in awhile and look for comments regarding my input here!
Sincerely,
Waterbaby!

2004-02-17 1:56 PM
in reply to: #7771

Extreme Veteran
Fort Wayne, IN
Subject: RE: Using Pilates for Strength/Weight Training/Balance/Flexibility!!!