General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Building a bike - good idea or no? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-05-07 9:49 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: Building a bike - good idea or no?

I am thinking of building my next bike for a couple of reasons:  First I want to learn more about the bike and it's mechanics, to learn to repair my own bike and also because I am not quite read to buy a whole new bike just yet.  I was thinking of buying the components, piece by piece, learning how to do it and possibly start in the late fall to have it ready for next season.  I am not a bike mechanic by any stretch of the imagination - I just learned out to change a flat, but I can follow directions pretty well - if they are user friendly.  So.... I guess I have a couple of main questions:

1)  Is it a good idea to buy my parts piece by piece, after I research what I need, what I want, and where the best place to buy it at price-wise?

2)  How hard is it to learn how to build a bike from scratch?

I am going to spend a decent amount on the frame - $2500 or so, but I am not sure that I my level (first year of tris) that I need the absolute best components out there.  So I want to research and get decent components and then upgrade over time.  In the end, I hope to save a little money over buying a complete bike, but also to learn how to repair my own bike at the same time.  Any thoughts?

Brian

2008-05-07 10:03 AM
in reply to: #1386930

User image

Champion
Checkin' out the podium girls
Subject: RE: Building a bike - good idea or no?
Do you have a bike already? If so, take that apart and put it back together. Re cable it, clean and grease everything. Have an LBS ready to bail you out of things you get stuck on. If this goes OK, you're ready.