General Discussion Race Reports! » Peachtree City International Triathlon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

Peachtree City International Triathlon - TriathlonOlympic

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Peachtree City, Georgia
United States
Tri4gold
Sunny
Total Time = 3h 33m
Overall Rank = 285/365
Age Group = Male 35-39
Age Group Rank = 37/39
Pre-race routine:

I'm not sure this is a "routine" since this is my first ever triathlon. I woke up a little early (~4AM) sine I was very nervous. The swim was very intimidating to me since I have no swim background (as will become evident in my swim leg description). Anyway, I attempted to down a bagel and banana with a little coffee and gatorade as I made my final preparations and packed up. I left the house around 5:40 AM since I live about 2 miles from the race start.
Event warmup:

No real warm-up. Just stretched a little and tried to keep warm since it was in the low 50s that morning. I spent the rest of the time hydrating and talking to other folks to calm my nerves a little. Again, this was my first foray i the tri world. I decided to participate in the race only about 8 weeks before and set off on an ambitious training routine to get in the best shape possible. This was a race of me against myself and just to finish at this point. I decided if I found this as enjoyable as it seemed to look, I would continue to improve and maybe next year attempt to be a little more serious about competing. I just wanted to at least not be dead last and be able to say I had given it all I had. Had lots of doubting friends but at least I can say I was willing to try my best.
Swim
  • 40m 37s
  • 1640 yards
  • 02m 29s / 100 yards
Comments: