General Discussion Triathlon Talk » bike crashes Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-06-07 9:24 PM

Subject: bike crashes
i'm relatively new to the tri community. i've done a couple sprint tri's. an observation: i hear a lot of "war stories" about crashes from cyclists, usually involving a car. Question for you all: how prevalent are road bike crashes that require medical care either e.r., urgent care or a doc visit?

it seems like everybody who rides road bikes over a period of a few years has their crash story. am i wrong?

2008-06-07 10:04 PM
in reply to: #1451947

User image

Elite
Athens, Georgia
Subject: RE: bike crashes
That is why they say when you crash not if you crash. If you ride long enough especially race and group ride conditions, you are going to be involved in a crash.

From what I have seen/heard, most crashes involve you losing it and wiping out or collision with another bike. I think it is more rare for bike vs. car collisions. Either way they make for some nice road rash.
2008-06-08 6:27 AM

User image

Expert
Louisville, KY

There is an old saying among motorcyclists that goes something along the lines of...

There are 2 kinds of bikers.  Those who have crashed and those who will.

The same holds true for cyclists, motorists, etc.  Every time you go for a drive, ride your bike, or even go for a walk there is an exposure to risk and it will eventually catch up to you.  Having said that, I've been cycling on and off for about 10 years and have only had one car related incident and fortunately it did not involve the need for medical attention.

2008-06-08 6:52 AM

I don't buy the "2 kinds of bikers" line.  If I did, I wouldn't motorcycle - and I know too many grizzly old men who've ridden for decades and never crashed.