General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Complete noob looking for bike advice. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-06-27 11:03 AM

Subject: Complete noob looking for bike advice.
So I'm taking the plunge and actually asking this burning question-- what kind of bike should a complete newbie get if she isn't even sure if she wants to get seriously into this triathlon business? To clarify, I've run before semi-competitively (high school track) and can swim basically forever (thank you, lifeguarding), but I've never biked for anything other than for working out and for fun. I've also have not had my own bike since I moved 7 years ago (I've just been using family mountain bikes that are likely far too big for me.) So my question is (since I'm looking into purchasing my own bike), should I just buy a mountain bike and change the wheels, or should I buy a road bike that's on they very low end (like Denali's). I'm really looking to spend between $200-$300 or less, simply because I really don't know if I'll like this at all. I'm also willing to stomach losing that much if I do end up loving it and saving up for something really good. This bike will be used mainly for training and possibly my first race, if I ever get that far. I am only 19 and am looking to stay in good shape while giving me something to do/a goal to shoot for in college (I'm not a partier, so fitness has become an attractive hobby for the past year). Thanks in advance for your time, sorry if I'm being annoying.

2008-06-27 12:02 PM
in reply to: #1494403

User image

Expert
SF Bay Area
Subject: RE: Complete noob looking for bike advice.
Hey, good for you and welcome to the sport. The fact that you're a strong swimmer is a huge plus.