General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Running shoe advice Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-07-11 7:36 AM

Subject: Running shoe advice

Hi folks,

This is kind of specific, but I am in need of some new running shoes, since my knees have started to hurt with my current pair:  they only have about 250 miles on them, but I have a very strange gait that takes it out of shoes.  I plan to hit the shoe store this afternoon.  Anyway, I was wondering if people have advice for shoes I should try.  I have been running in Supernova classics for like 6 years now, but I want to see if I can find something that works better now that I am running more.  As I said, I have a very strange gait:  a hard heel strike, and a lot of twist on the ball of my foot as I come through the stride, so I need a pretty stiff shoe with a durable insole (the lifetime of my shoe is determined by how long it takes me to wear a hole thorough the insole under the ball of my foot) but plenty of cushioning.  Any advice?  Shoes I should try that you love?

Thanks! 

2008-07-11 7:46 AM
in reply to: #1522185

Regular
Subject: RE: Running shoe advice

When I got my last pair I decided to splurge and went to the local runner's store.  All told it took about 90 minutes.  The guy had me run a bit on the treadmill to get a sense of my running style.  Then he measured and brought out my size in about six different brands and styles.  I tried them all on the treadmill several times until we decided which work best.  Heck, I had never even heard of Saucony before but they've worked out well.  Laughing

So I guess my advise would be to go to a running shop where they know what they're doing and try, try, try different shoes. 

2008-07-11 8:52 AM

User image

Veteran
Hillsborough, NH
X2

Especially having a strange gait, you'll want to make sure you get the right pair. Spend the time at the right store. If you say where you're located I'm sure someone can recommend a good place.

Good Luck!