General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Need Advice on Cycling Up Hills Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-02-09 1:05 PM

User image

Veteran
Subject: Need Advice on Cycling Up Hills

I'm also new to Tri-ing and I've found it to be both a difficult yet rewarding experience in terms of training program. One area I know i have to work on right now is my cycling. I spent most of my winter working on getting my cadence to the 90-100 RPM range on my indoor trainer (winter weather). Now that i've gone outside, I find that I'm still significantly slower than my counterparts when it comes to riding outdoors. This is especially the case when i'm going up hills and I find my cadence drops badly to around 55-70 rpm and speed dips to about 8-10 miles/hr. The worst part is I'm just DOG TIRED after going up a hill (not a very long hill, probably about 30-60 secs to get over it). My question has to deal with what are the best gearsa do you all use for flat riding and hill riding? I have 3 gears and 8 shift cassete for 24-total speeds. Right now i'm in my 2nd gear and maybe the 2nd/3rd shift. Am i even using the right terminology? Feel free to correct me if I'm not... But in a way, the hills do remind me of when I first started running. I dreaded the hills but practiced it to a point where running hills are actually my biggest strength. Does it work the same way with cycling?

2005-02-09 1:18 PM
in reply to: #114945

User image

Extreme Veteran
Denver, CO
Subject: RE: Need Advice on Cycling Up Hills

While this may not help with your gearing questions, it does provide some good advice about group rides:

How to Hold Your Own on Fast Club Rides

By Fred Matheny of www.RoadBikeRider.com

The major activity of any cycling club, racing or touring, is the group ride. As a result, it’s important to know how to hang tough on a given ride and make yourself welcome on the next one. Success is often due to more than fitness.

Here’s a club cycling primer!