United States
80?F / 0C
Overcast
Total Time = 1h 05m 57s
Overall Rank = 43/497
Age Group = M30-34
Age Group Rank = 8/30
Pre-race routine:

Wake-up early and get their early. Find a 24h supermarket to go to the bathroom at so I don't have to hold-it, or worse, use those God-awful porto-potties.
Event warmup:

short jog
Swim
  • 10m 19s
  • 437 yards
  • 02m 22s / 100 yards
Comments:

This is my first year doing tris, and I have done 2 sprints before this. In terms of the swim both were DISASTERS! Even with open water training, I always had to swim to kayaks and hold on. I usually was close to the last person out of the water in my wave. I choose this tri because it was a short swim and I needed to find out if I could even do this.
The start was a bit of a mess as no one knew where we should start...or when. I wasn't even at the starting point when the gun went off. I stuck to my plan and went to the back and the outside and swam. I never got into the 3 strokes and breathe routine regulary, I usually did 2 strokes and breathed. But even with that, I did make it without panicking or having to hold onto a kayak. As lame as it may sound, this was a big win for me. I also saw plenty of the people in my wave still swimming when I got out, and I didn't see one person from another wave.
What would you do differently?:

Next time, get to the start line faster and tread water rather than getting scared and anxious. I will still stay to the outside, but move more towards the center and inside as I get further down the course.
Transition 1
  • 01m 4s
Comments:

I didn't think it took me a minute to do this. But I haven't gotten into the habit of putting my shoes on my bike, rather I sit down and strap them on. The rankings of swimming, T1, bike, ect aren't up yet, so it is difficult for me to determine if I did well here or not.

I'm not sure...any of you experience people have some suggestions? Please send them my way.
Bike
  • 38m 48s
  • 12.5 miles
  • 19.33 mile/hr
Comments: