General Discussion Race Reports! » LongHorn Triathlon Festival - Half Iron Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

LongHorn Triathlon Festival - Half Iron - Triathlon1/2 Ironman

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Austin, Texas
United States
EndorFUN SPORTS
77F / 25C
Overcast
Total Time = 6h 03m 39s
Overall Rank = 938/1923
Age Group = 20-24
Age Group Rank = 35/59
Pre-race routine:

Training

I started training for this race on April 14th, 2008. I had designed my own training plan built around “The Perfect Distance” by Tom Rodgers. It was a great book. My training could not have gone better. I made it through all of the training injury free and I only missed two workouts throughout the whole program.

Race Week

Race weeks are always kind of stressful. I was tapering so I wasn’t working out as much so I was a little on edge. I was being very careful that I was hydrating enough and spent Thursday-Saturday night eating as many carbs as my body would take. I might not drink Gatorade or eat pasta for a few weeks. I was also so distracted that I got very little done at work. But physically, I knew I was ready. My training had been spot on and I could feel that I had fully recovered from all of the training and I knew I was peaking at the right time. My body was ready to race.

Packet Pickup