Other Resources My Cup of Joe » Hey all you BT Teachers... Need some advice Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, the bear, DerekL, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2008-11-11 9:13 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Podunk County, MN
Subject: Hey all you BT Teachers... Need some advice

I am strongly contemplating career change.  I enjoy what I do now, and I have a very sweet setup, but that same sweet setup has me basically dead-ended.  Let me 'splain:

I work from home most of the time, doing market research for an apparel retailer.  I have a boss and that's it for my department.  My office is over 1.5 hours away from here.  I've been doing what I do for over 10 years now... it's interesting, and the projects are varied, and it was fabulous while I've had young children (flexible, project based, etc.), but I sat down a few weeks ago and tried to think about what I want out of my career long term and realized I have no change options.  I can't switch departments because nobody else will want a remote associate.  I can't really move up because there's nobody else to manage, and remote management probably wouldn't be an option anyway.  The nature of my work means that I'm highly strategic - I provide a lot of advice for change, but don't always see it happen, and being remote has decreased how often I'm brought into the loop (out of sight...).  I don't worry for my job (much), but I also started to think "do I want to be doing this for 20 more years?" and I shudder at the thought.  I also have a bit of an altruistic streak in me, and I find myself thinking "Is this all I'm going to give?  I'm going to make money for somebody selling clothes? Really?"