General Discussion Triathlon Talk » LUMBAR FUSION L5 S1 Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-12-09 7:50 PM

Regular
Subject: LUMBAR FUSION L5 S1
Im now sitting in my back brace typing this and was wondering if anyone has had back surgery and came back racing again!!!My last race was on august of 2007 .I have been in so much pain from then and im also a fulltime firefighter,so I have been living on painkillers just to get through my shifts havent be able to train at all because of the pain.I finally told myself i have to do somthing because i cant go on like this so I went to a spine doctor and had nerve test an mri done.I got my results back and i had a degenerative disk L5 S1, so I set up to do a lumbar microdesectemy.I had tried everthing epidural shots everything nothing worked so when they cut me open everthing was on the left side they got in there and found that my nerves was conjoied so they had to stop the operation it was very rare.Im just thankful i had a great surgeon to not cut through that nerve or i would not have any mobility.So after that we waited till after thanksgiving to go back in,and they cut me open again and found my nerves were like a vine tethered around the disk it was crazy not to mention i had two cyst filled with fluid oN the nerves.Plus the disk was totally gone so it was rubbing it was very rare so they did the fusion with two screws and the cage inserts,I stayed in the hospital for 4 days post op.I have no pain at all in my left leg and foot.Im just wanting to start training eventually but i have to be very strong and not give up!!!!I will be off from work for the next 2 months so its just going to be a challenge but i can do it have raced alot of races being boise 70.3 last year but after that its been downhill,I was just wondering has anyone recovered from back surgery and racing again
thank you FIREFIGHTER BILOXI MISSISSIPPI HURRICANE ALLEY

2008-12-12 12:15 PM
in reply to: #1846579

User image

Master