General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swim base training - advice? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-01-12 11:39 PM

Master
Subject: Swim base training - advice?

Hi all. I'm a pretty new swimmer (4 months now), and am a Total Immersion self-taught M33 swimmer. I've made some good progress, going from really sloppy and slow to at least floating properly and respectable pacing.

As it's winter and there are few OWS to do, I've been "base training" on the swim, similar to what I do on the run or bike. Meaning few to no sprint sessions, and preferring longer swims.

I'm on a 3x/wk swim schedule (I'm run-focused now) and typical training are 3 swims: 45 mins, 60mins, and 70-75mins currently. It's all at easy aerobic pace for me, and although my stroke count gets a bit worse after 45 mins or so, I make sure my form doesn't deterioriate too much. I swim at about 2:00min/100m pace, pretty steadily the whole way.

Still, I'd like to improve if I can during this phase. I know that swimming more days would be the best option, but I'm going to save the 5x/wk swims for when the water warms up, and I'll go swim-focused then. So for now, was wondering:

- Should I do any speedwork? I've occasionally done 6 x 200s - they're hard, but seem to help some. Still, not sure if they're more benefit than the long swims right now.

- What duration aero swim should I aim for if I'll definitely do an Oly distance later this year, and if possible, a HIM? (The swim is my limiting factor for the HIM - I can do the bike/run already.)

- I'm still uncoached, and haven't taken a lesson yet. There are some pricey packages around here for $200 for 3 swim coaches and a short video session. Think it might be worth it for a completely uncoached swimmer like myself?