General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Clipless pedals and my dodgy knee angle... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-02-19 12:24 AM

User image

Regular
Auckland, New Zealand
Subject: Clipless pedals and my dodgy knee angle...
On group rides fellow riders have noticed that my right leg (well actually my knee) sticks out when I ride. My left leg is at a completely normal angle. We were discussing this and wondered whether it was a good idea to change the angle of the cleat on my shoes to try and overcome this problem. If I turn the cleat out a few degrees it will have the effect of turning my knee inwards, which I guess will be more effective in the pedal stroke.

Any experiences with similar problems and ways to overcome it? Thanks!

2009-02-19 1:56 AM
in reply to: #1969861

User image

Expert
Boise, Idaho
Subject: RE: Clipless pedals and my dodgy knee angle...

Gary, I'm by no means an expert, but first I would find out if your knee is sticking out because of the angle of your pedal cleat or in spite of the pedal cleat.  I would be careful trying to adjust your cleat angles based soley on 'appearance'.  However, if you experiencing some knee pain, perhaps an adjustment is in order.   I don't have any knee issues, but I like to have my Look-style cleats adjusted so my natural pedal stroke is right in the middle of the pedals 'float' range.   A pedal with a lot of float i.e. Speedplays or Crank Bros. may benefit someone with a more significant knee issues.  Good Luck

2009-02-19 3:30 AM

User image

Pro
, New Hampshire
This usually comes from two causes, or it could be both.