United States
45F / 7C
Sunny
Total Time = 3h 35m 33s
Overall Rank = 30/120
Age Group = Male 35-39
Age Group Rank = 4/9
Pre-race routine:

I grabbed my stuff and headed out the door close to 6:00 AM. I arrived at the UF campus shortly after and just chilled in the car and got ready. I ran into a friend of mine, Angel Cuesta, who was doing the half. We finished getting ready and walked to the startline about half a mile away.
Event warmup:

Walking to the start.
Run
  • 3h 35m 33s
  • 26.2 miles
  • 08m 14s  min/mile
Comments:

The goal on October 19th, 2008 when I started training for this race was to attempt to qualify for Boston. Nothing else. My training went well throughout the 18 week program. After my last long run, a 20 miler, during my first of three taper weeks, I was laid out for a week due to a flu/cold/fever thing that just lingered. No running for eight days. It has lingered even until today as I write this race report. When I finally got back to running I just did not have the snap in the legs or the breathing/HR under control.
So, enough of the excuses, I just wanted to give some background as to the reason for the crazy/boneheaded decision I made at the start of the race. At the start, I ran the jock math in my head and figured out that I could easily run at a 7:40 to 7:50/mile pace without any problems. I had run this pace for all my long runs including two 20 milers and one 22 miler. However, a 7:40 pace would not get me into Boston. It would lower my PR from 3:42:17 set back in April of 2000 by about 20 or so minutes. But, the goal was to qualify for Boston, right? Right! Being an experiment of one, I told myself to get into BQ pace from the start and see if I could hold it for the entire 26.2. This plan was a one way ticket into the unknown. Prefontaine-like, race to see who has the most guts. All or nothing.