General Discussion Race Reports! » Perth BRW Corporate Teams Triathlon series Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

Perth BRW Corporate Teams Triathlon series - TriathlonMini Sprint

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Perth, Western Australia
Australia
25C / 77F
Sunny
Total Time = 58m 36s
Overall Rank = 745/1400
Age Group =
Age Group Rank = 0/
Pre-race routine:

This was my first ever triathlon. A mate from work who had done IM & HIMs suggested we enter into this as it was a team event. We eventually got 3 teams together.
My background is of doing not much at all for 20 years until I got persuaded into running last October. I went from not managing 1km without breathing to comfortably managing over 5km at a reasonable pace (for me!) I used to play water polo so was happy enough in the water, once I'd rediscovered my technique! The bike training only started at Christmas when I bought a bike.
So, I wasn't looking for a stunning time, just to get through in reasonable shape and not be last out of the 9 of us! I also set myself a goal of 1 hour!

Got up at 4:30, ate some cereal and a banana, and drank juice and a bottle of Endura, Drove into Perth, parked the car and met up with guys from work. Checked the bike in, lost the race tag, found the race tag, and then checked out the facilites to cure last minute nerves
Event warmup:

Good start here - I lost the teams timing strap. Luckily it was back in transition and had fallen out of my bag when I was setting up our gear.

Looking round at all the expensive bikes in transition!!
A few stretches before we jumped in the river ready to start.

There are no official transition times, with the bike leg taking the majority of the hit, so I've guessed times for those. With this being a big event (2200 competitors in 2 events) there was a long old run between swim & bike and bike & run which is why the transition times are so high.
Swim
  • 07m 36s
  • 400 meters
  • 01m 54s / 100 meters
Comments: