General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Article: Core strength training for triathletes Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-03-25 2:19 PM

Amarillo, TX
Subject: Article: Core strength training for triathletes
I just finished reading/critiquing Mr. Escalante's above titled article posted on this website. I must respond before someone becomes injured and ruins their season.
I am a licensed Physical therapist and was first offended by Mr. Escalante's assumption that:

"In physical therapy, when patients are asked to engage their core muscles, the patient merely holds their breath. They feel an increase pressure in the “core region” and associate the feeling with engagement of the core."

The exercises presented by the author are worthwhile but following his attack on physical therapists, he fails to instruct how the core (abdominals and lumbar paraspinals/erector spinae) actually are contracted prior to performing the exercises he recommends. Some of these exercises are rather difficult and could result in injury if not performed with caution.

For the first timer, the way to contract the core is as follows:
Lie on the floor on your back with the knees bent and the feet flat on the floor. Hands are relaxed at the side.
Push the lower back into the floor by rotating the pelvis posteriorly (the belly button moves toward the head) and hold for a count of 5 and continue to breathe normally. I would recommend performing at least 20 of these prior to attempting the more diffiulct exercises listed in the article so that the neuromuscular coordination has been set.
PLEASE DO THIS "PELVIC TILT" PRIOR TO AND DURING ALL OF YOUR CORE STABILIZATION EXERCISES in order to protect the disc and ligamentous structures.

FYI: the initials or alphabet soup behind Mr. Escalante's name infer that he is an athletic trainer and a certified personal trainer, the second of which can be obtained in a weekend class. By his own disclaimer he states: