General Discussion Triathlon Talk » The real response to Jason Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-03-27 9:00 PM

User image

New user

La Verne
Subject: The real response to Jason
Greetings. A few comments regarding Mr. Spencer’s views on the core strength article. I made no assumption about or attack on physical therapy, I merely made an observation from my experiences. In reading the article now, I should have let it read as it did originally, “Often times in physical therapy…” To view my comments as an attack is ridiculous. Along with being a triathlon coach, I am also part owner of two successful physical therapy facilities and one gym. Health, fitness, and well being are not only hobbies, but my livelihood. Why would I want to compromise myself, my associates, or those exposed to my work?

Any training article should be viewed with care and adapted according to your season and current level of activity. The exercises presented here do not put anyone in any more danger than any other inappropriately followed program. In addition to the website’s medical warning, I too note “Begin the program conservatively; it is better to realize you could have gone harder…” The exercises progress from easier to more challenging exercises. Mr. Spencer does provide good advice regarding what I will call the core warm up routine.

I also want to commend Mr. Spencer’s understanding of the personal training world and the weekend certifications that are available. I do not limit myself to one of those, nor do I work with/hire anybody who does. In his selective quotes, Mr. Spencer fails to mention my Master’s Degree. And please sir, I do not “infer” anything about my certifications, education nor experience. For those who are interested please view the following links:

-Manny Escalante’s bio: http://www.cruciblefitness.com/coaching/coaches/manny/index.htm
-Certified Athletic Trainer (ATC) info: http://www.nata.org/publicinformation/files/FactsaboutATCS.pdf