General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Total Immersion Workshop-worth the money? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-03-18 9:35 AM

User image

Master
South Alabama
Subject: Total Immersion Workshop-worth the money?

Hello-I am new to triathlons and have been going to masters swim classes for a couple of weeks. I was never much of a swimmer but classes are helping.  Right now I am just trying to get comfortable with swimming and building a base.  Instructor provides technique assistance but right now I am still very much a beginner. Doing my first sprint triathlon in late May.  I see where TI has a weekend workshop scheduled in my area in early May.  In looking at the website it appears the workshop is $495 for combined Saturday and Sunday afternoon sessions.  Looks like each day lasts about 3 hours (class/pool).  I am comfortable that I will be able to complete the swim at my first Tri but was wondering whether anyone here could shed light on the cost versus benefit of the TI workshop for a newbie like myself.  

Thanks

Slornow- but will be faster soon  

2009-03-18 9:58 AM
in reply to: #2025071

User image

Champion
, Minnesota
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Total Immersion Workshop-worth the money?
I credit TI instruction with that fact that I can swim today, period. I took a class from a TI instructor over 6 sessions, but I would have taken the weekend workshop if that was my only option.  It's a bit overpriced, but still worthwhile I think.  Really good for learning balance and rotation, which is very very useful.  So, unless you are already good at that, I say go for it.
2009-03-18 10:06 AM

User image

Coach
Boston, MA

How good or bad of a swimmer are you? Can you do some distance now? What’s your avg time for 100s?