General Discussion Triathlon Talk » climbing vs. elevation gain Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-03-25 12:22 AM

User image

Master
Muskego, Wisconsin
Subject: climbing vs. elevation gain

I'm new to having hills to climb and was wondering what the difference is between garmin telling me that I climbed 1798 feet but my acent was 4670?  Motion Based has elevation gain at 5928.  Three numbers one ride i'm confused.  It was much easier in Florida, lots of zeros.

Thanks, Chris

2009-03-25 7:24 AM
in reply to: #2038419

User image

Extreme Veteran
Falls Church, VA
Subject: RE: climbing vs. elevation gain

I think that climbing is just the difference in elevation btwn the start and end of the ride.  Whereas accent(garmin) and elevation gain (MB) is the sum total of all the "ups" in the ride.

If this ride started and ended the ride at the same place climbing should be close to 0.   A possible reason for a high climb value in a loop ride would be if you started riding before the gps locked onto enough satellites for an accurate 3d reading.  It requires many more than just the 3-4 for good 2d data.  So even though the gps looks ready to go it'll still take more time for good data.

MB and Garmin and any other program that you upload the raw data to will give different values for accent.  It all depends on how it deals with the data.  The raw data will have some random spikes and such, good programs will smooth this out and not and it to the total accent.  Also each program aslo has to decide how much climbing you have to do before it gets added to the accent value.  In other words, if you ride a rolling road with 10 3 foot swales some programs will count that as 30 extra feet of accent otheres will dismiss it.

Then there's the argument that a gps without a built-in pressure altimeter never gives accurate altidude changes (the FR 305 does not have such).

2009-03-25 8:22 AM

User image

Elite
Preferably on my bike somewhere