General Discussion Triathlon Talk » 50 yd swim sprint? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-03-29 8:51 PM

User image

Veteran
Hawkins
Subject: 50 yd swim sprint?
This is so 180, but I know there are experienced swimmers in here....

I've been practicing for eight months on swimming long, working on endurance--read all there is about technique for the long haul. Now, at work, I've been signed up as a swimmer for a "corporate challenge" event. I didn't think twice about it 'cause I'm so used to thinking of swimming as equal to and endurance event, full stop. Today, however, I received word that the event is a 50 yd. "splash and dash"! Egads! I'm not really going to change how I train, but still: what, if anything, should I do differently in my technique in such a short swim? Just the usual but faster?? Kick more?

2005-03-29 9:09 PM
in reply to: #135516

Regular
Adrian, MI
Subject: RE: 50 yd swim sprint?
A 50 yard sprint is as much about a good start and a good turn as it is about your stroke.  Concentrate on a good push off the wall and a tight streamlined position.  When it comes to the stroke, turn it over faster (but make sure you finish all the way through).  Good luck!
2005-03-29 9:20 PM

Extreme Veteran
Kochi, Japan
I`m not sure exactly what your swim workouts entail, but if you are not doing it already, I would reccomend doing a short sprint set each workout. This can be as short as 4x25, or 4x50 yards/meters (try for little rest). I think this will help not only your "splash and dash", but if you remember to keep good form it will also result in faster times at the longer distances. It will also give you that extra push you will need the next time you plan on passing people in a crowded pool or going out fast at the start of a tri.