General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike Routes in Wilmington, NC Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-03-26 9:32 AM

User image

Wilmington, NC
Subject: Bike Routes in Wilmington, NC

I'm new to the sport and just starting a training program.  Does anyone have suggestions for bike routes in Wilmington, NC or a website where I could find some?  I really don't want to ride on busy roads until I'm more comfortable with riding on the road in general.  I've only biked on the road for distances greater than a few miles a few times (one was a week long bike trip, but was with a group of people the whole time).  Any input would be awesome!

Thanks!!Cool

2009-03-26 10:46 AM
in reply to: #2041296

User image

Master
Knightdale/Raleigh
Subject: RE: Bike Routes in Wilmington, NC

River Road has a bike lane as does Kure Beach. My info is probably a little dated, though. Traffic is light, but fast, on River Rd; Kure beach has sand in the bike lane, but off season should be easy to ride on the road down to Fort Fisher. Maybe even take the ferry and say you biked to South Port.

Try the "Routes" icon up top beside training log. Filter by distance from zip code and enter your zip. When I first started I did the Porters Neck TT that comes up and it was nice. We parked in a rest home parking lot. Making right turns we barely had to stop.

2009-03-26 11:33 AM

User image

Veteran
Wilmington, NC
Gold member
Wrightsville beach is actually a nice place to ride depending on the time of day. You can park at the tennis courts and do loops of the island, it's about 9 miles long. Not much traffic, bike lanes for part of it and plenty of room for cars to move over.
River road is not bad unless you hit rush hour. The speed limit is 55 so it can get a little interesting if the traffic is heavy.
421 N is a good place, park at the Battleship and head north, once you get past where I-140 connects, there is hardly any traffic, wide lanes and pretty safe.