General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Thinking of doing an Exterra Sprint Tri in Vegas Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-04-05 9:54 PM

User image

Shorewood
Subject: Thinking of doing an Exterra Sprint Tri in Vegas
OK. I'm from the flatlands of Illinois and I've done 2 sprint Triathlons so far. I am going to be in Las Vegas the first week in May and I saw there's an Exterra Triathlon in Lake Las Vegas that Saturday. I'm very tempted to try it but I have no experience with Mountain bike riding. I'm sure I can handle the run and the swim but I'm a little worried about the bike. Does anyone know just how hard and steep this is. I'm 40 and in good shape and willing to take some risks. My wife and I are flying in Friday night and staying in the Lake Las Vegas area so it just seams to make sense to sign up for this. then again, maybe it would be nice to just sit back, relax and watch other people for a change.

2009-04-06 12:11 AM
in reply to: #2064646

User image

Elite
Tucson, AZ
Subject: RE: Thinking of doing an Exterra Sprint Tri in Vegas

I've done several western XTERRAs, and my advice for you is to hold off and learn to mountain bike first. A race isn't the place to learn. I'd rank the XTERRA courses as solid intermediate level mountain biking, not beginner. The sprint version of the Vegas course is 1 loop, while the regional championship course is 2 loops. They are usually challenging for the championships as slots to the world championships are up for grabs.