General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Unbalanced starting point for training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-04-13 11:17 AM

New user

Subject: Unbalanced starting point for training
I'm hoping to complete a Sprint Tri late in the summer.  I've been swimming for a couple months and can manage a full mile swim at reasonable pace. I need to keep this path to complete a 2 mile swim in the fall. But I haven't started runing or biking yet...

How would you suggest I alter the 16 or 20 week sprint training program to suit?  Should I keep my swim training intact and add to it by using a biathlon program (bike/run)?

Thank you!

2009-04-13 12:55 PM
in reply to: #2080853

User image

Elite
Gilbert, Az.
Subject: RE: Unbalanced starting point for training
pwright73 - 2009-04-13 9:17 AM I'm hoping to complete a Sprint Tri late in the summer.  I've been swimming for a couple months and can manage a full mile swim at reasonable pace. I need to keep this path to complete a 2 mile swim in the fall. But I haven't started runing or biking yet...

How would you suggest I alter the 16 or 20 week sprint training program to suit?  Should I keep my swim training intact and add to it by using a biathlon program (bike/run)?

Thank you!

Is the 2 mile a separate thing?

If you have a race in a single sport that you are gunning for, keep the training up for that, don't drop it down to match a lower level in the training plan. Especially since it's swimming, you won't be dealing with the extra impact, etc. Rock the swim split and then you'll be way ahead of the pack for the rest of it!

John
2009-04-13 1:02 PM