General Discussion Triathlon Talk » good bike routes in/around Boston area? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-04-23 8:02 PM

User image

Regular
Cambridge, MA
Subject: good bike routes in/around Boston area?
Hi everyone,

I'm just getting into really training for my first sprint triathlon this summer. I want to try and get in as many of my bike rides outdoors as possible, but my usual "leisure" route along the Charles doesn't seem to be much good... too many pedestrians and traffic lights to really be able to pick up any speed and it's getting a bit frustrating.
I do use the spin bikes at the gym, but as the weather is getting better I'd much rather be outside!

So can anyone recommend any good 5-20 mile bike routes in and around the Boston/Cambridge area? I don't really want to have to drive out of the town, I'd rather just take an easy ride from my place to the start of the route as a warm up.

Any suggestions much appreciated!
Cheers,
Sophie

2009-04-24 7:18 AM
in reply to: #2106823

User image

Extreme Veteran
Medway, MA
Subject: RE: good bike routes in/around Boston area?
Have you tried searching for route ideas on this site at http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/routes/ or other sites like http://www.mapmyride.com/search 

Good luck!
2009-04-24 8:58 AM

User image

Veteran
Charlestown