General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Brick training days--does the order matter? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-04-11 5:40 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Lafayette, CO
Subject: Brick training days--does the order matter?
I am just beginning my training and following the Total sprint program with a few modifiations. It calls for swimming and running on the same day...does it matter which order I do this in? I have been running first, then swimming, because it's more time efficient. (Since I take a shower, I only have to dry off once, this way...) I'm curious about other opinions. Also, as workouts get longer, how do people fit them into one day? Does this mean working out in the morning and the afternoon, or however people prefer?

Thanks!
Line

2005-04-11 5:56 PM
in reply to: #141262

User image

Regular
Columbus, Ohio
Subject: RE: Brick training days--does the order matter?

Line,

Back when I was really working out and training hard, I would do a split-day workout. I'd do cardio training in the morning and then do a half-body workout (perhaps lower body), then in the afternoon, I would do another cardio workout.

As for the swimming/running thing, it's really up to you and how your body feels. I usually do either the running and biking first and then get into the pool because I can relax in the pool after I get my workout in.

You'll find you'll need to observe how your body responds and train toward that.

Good luck!

Edited by OSUAlum94 2005-04-11 5:59 PM
2005-04-11 10:21 PM

User image

Master
Frisco, Texas

Line,

There is a difference between a brick and two-a-day workouts.  A brick simulates a triathlon race.  For example, on Saturday I biked for 2 hours then rolled into my drive way where I had a mini-transition area setup; changed to running gear and ran for 30 minutes.  The order does matter - race as you train.