General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Anybody wear a wetsuit in non-wetsuit races? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-05-20 2:20 PM

Ft. Lauderdale
Subject: Anybody wear a wetsuit in non-wetsuit races?
Hi everyone.  I'm a noob and training for my first tri.  I have completed a few du's and Im just not satisfied.  I panic in the water, no doubt about it.  I've accepted this and although I can swim a 400 no problem, I can't do it in water over my head.  I want to do tri's, but I also want to enjoy myself, after all, thats why I'm here.  Has anyone worn a wetsuit during a non-wetsuit race?  I just think this will give me enough confidence to have a good time and not worry.  Will I look like an idiot?  Should I even care?  All my races are in warm water, so I'm thinking sleeveless.  What do you think?
Thanks,
Mike

2009-05-20 2:24 PM
in reply to: #2163938

User image

Giver
Subject: RE: Anybody wear a wetsuit in non-wetsuit races?
If the official temp is between 78 and 82, you can wear a suit but you're inelligible for awards. Above 82...you wouldn't be allowed to start (assuming you got caught).

Swimming in a wetsuit in warm water is like running in a business suit when it's 90 degrees. Uncomfortable at best, unsafe at worst.

In short, HTFU.
2009-05-20 2:28 PM

User image

I would just ask why you want to do tris when you are not prepared to swim in open water yet?  Why not stick to dus until you get more comfortable in the water (which you will, if you practice).  I think that if you can't swim in water over your head (yet) you should not be doing a triathlon.

This is just my opinion, not meant to be harsh, but really addressed more to your safety than anything else.
2009-05-20 2:31 PM

User image

Veteran
North Carolina Foothills