General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Alum Creek Triathlon - Sprint Distance : Official Thread Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-06-15 2:38 PM

User image

Expert
Columbus
Subject: Alum Creek Triathlon - Sprint Distance : Official Thread

this is the race i started my come back to tris with last year.  i am anxious to see how i have improved.  barring a 90 degree day or injury i should be able to get an apples to apples comparison of my improvement.

2009-06-16 11:29 PM
in reply to: #2219117

Subject: RE: Alum Creek Triathlon - Sprint Distance : Official Thread
Alum Creek tri will be my first tri. I was feeling ok about it until I did my first open water swim about two weeks ago. Now, I am getting a bit nervous. I swim in circles and I found that I get over anxious swimming in open water, especially when I know my feet can't touch bottom. I know it is 80% mental. I have been training for more than three months, but now just want it to be over.

Any tips (I will event take reassurance at this point ) people can provide is appreciated. 

How well is the swim course marked? Are there guards placed throughout the swim course for safety? I know I can swim the distance, but my mind is throwing up road (err, water) blocks!!

Wayne 
2009-06-17 1:52 AM
in reply to: #2223210

User image

Veteran
Columbus, Ohio
iwhenry - 2009-06-17 12:29 AM Alum Creek tri will be my first tri. I was feeling ok about it until I did my first open water swim about two weeks ago. Now, I am getting a bit nervous. I swim in circles and I found that I get over anxious swimming in open water, especially when I know my feet can't touch bottom. I know it is 80% mental. I have been training for more than three months, but now just want it to be over.

Any tips (I will event take reassurance at this point ) people can provide is appreciated.