General Discussion Triathlon Talk » The State of Triathlon Training - Special note to the Novice Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 5

2009-06-18 9:32 AM

User image

Regular
Subject: The State of Triathlon Training - Special note to the Novice

Every now and then I get the itch to post something that is a little long winded and that I know some people won’t like.  So, I ask myself why even bother.  Inevitably the answer to that question, I believe, is that any insights I have will hopefully help some. 

When I first started researching training I poured over everything I could find to learn about the best way to do this or that.  In the end what you realize is that there are no clear cut answers.  Even if you go to a coach you aren’t like to get the “right answer.” 

Let me preface what I’m about to say about training by stating that I’m not a coach and have never been professionally coached.  I’ve been doing triathlons for less than 18 months.  I’m not super fast and haven’t raced in a full IM.  I just completed my first HIM and bonked from poor nutrition.

Currently I am about a 3:00 marathoner.

Currently, on average, I can pace a 56 mile ride at 23 mph

Currently, I swim my 100’s @ 1:23 ish.

So, not fast and not super slow.  I have made a lot of progress in my first year.  And, overall, I am pretty happy with where I am all things considered.  I’m learning all the time and hopefully I will continue to improve.  Onward and upward!

One of the most discussed topics on the boards, magazines and other articles I have read focuses on “how to train to get faster.”  Really, isn’t that the broad question that just about everyone from beginner to expert asks at one time or another – if not every day!

The questions to this topic come in many forms –

1)      How do I get faster?

2)      How much should I train?

3)      How many intervals should I do?

4)      Should I do periodization?

5)      Should I do more intervals?