General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Anyone else having issues with the heat?? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2009-06-26 9:32 AM

User image

Elite
Puyallup, WA
Subject: Anyone else having issues with the heat??
So I'm in the Chicago area - and basically the 1st day of summer came and we haven't seen highs below 80 since - with higher humidity.  I know that it's probably hotter other places - but I'm new at this "game".  My body isn't letting me run!!  And I dont' know what to do.  I usually run INSIDE, but my fitness center isn't all that cool...anyone else have some issues when they were still a new runner??

2009-06-26 9:36 AM
in reply to: #2244865

User image

Extreme Veteran
Cedar Park, Texas
Subject: RE: Anyone else having issues with the heat??

Uh...yeah!  We're roasting with temps over 100 all week, so 80 sounds perfectly blissful to me!  I saw a neighbor out running yesterday and the temp gauge on my car was reading 106 - that's just crazy.  I'm doing all of my workouts early in the morning, at the gym, or in the pool.  Otherwise, I'm just asking for heat stroke.... Running in the heat is particularly brutal.  You can aclimate over time as long as you take it easy, but I'm not sure how much good that does for your training. Personally, I have this thing against being miserable, exhausted, and dehydrated - but maybe that's just me.

2009-06-26 9:38 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Pittsburgh