General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Combat swim stroke/side stroke Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-07-08 12:31 PM

User image

Regular
Subject: Combat swim stroke/side stroke
I need a little help.  I am new to triathlon's and view the swim as something to get through/survive until the real race starts on the bike.  I am doing a sprint this year and one Oly( I think).  The sprint is in a few weeks, but I have until Sept 25 to get ready for the Oly. 

My question is, does anybody do the side stroke or what the military calls the combat swim stroke in tri's.  Freestyle seems to be the norm.  I can do the side stroke at a 1:50/100yd pace for the entire Oly distance (with no wetsuit).  My plan was to get past this season and starting this fall, get a coach and work on my stroke in the off season.

2009-07-08 12:47 PM
in reply to: #2270473

User image

Veteran
Roxborough Park
Subject: RE: Combat swim stroke/side stroke
I've read so far that you can do any stroke you like, but that strokes like breast stroke and the side stroke take up more room, so you may end up hitting other swimmers.  I was thinking of doing breast stroke or side stroke (both are as fast as my freestyle, if not faster) but I realized that one of the main reasons to do freestyle is because you can do it with such minimal leg work.  At least in my sidestroke, I feel like a lot of my power comes from that scissor kick where I can do a minimal 2 beat kick with my freestyle stroke so my legs aren't burnt out before they need to be.

So- do what you like, but it may be worth it to figure out your freestyle sooner than later in terms of leg fatigue.
2009-07-08 1:03 PM

User image

Expert
SF Bay Area
If you are comfortable with that stroke it's totally OK. You will see everything (free, back, side, breast, just bobbing up and down). 1:50 per 100 sidestroke is pretty darn fast but I bet you'll be glad to get on your bike during the olympic.
2009-07-08 1:06 PM

User image

Veteran