General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First Tri Sunday, Bike Tips Wanted Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-08-05 1:14 PM

User image

Veteran
Arlington, VA
Subject: First Tri Sunday, Bike Tips Wanted

My first tri is Sunday, a mini sprint.  I know a lot of what to expect.  The swim is a snake swim seeded by time.  I go out and swim; some people may tap ahead of me; I may tap ahead of some people.  That I get.  I’ve done enough road races to know what to expect on foot.  Nothing like starting in a cattle chute, just you and a few thousand of your closest friends.  (Quick tangent: in Ottawa I almost ran over someone who stopped a mere 200 yards into the race.)  And by the time I get to the run, things will have thinned out considerably.

The part I have the least grasp of is what the bike ride is like.  I’m looking for any tips for being on the course with a few hundred bikes.  I have zero experience there. 

I’m ready for the physical; I'm training well beyond all the distances for my race on Sunday.  It’s the intangibles I’m trying to get squared away in my pumpkin head.

2009-08-05 1:18 PM
in reply to: #2329879

Subject: RE: First Tri Sunday, Bike Tips Wanted
Honestly,
I think you may be over thinking it.  If you are physically ready, you are probably better off than about 1/2 of the people. 

As far as the bike goes, just remember to have it set in the proper gear in transition.  Don't sweat a flying start or starting with your shoes on the pedals.  Just be sure to get on smoothly and get them turning asap.  Onceon course, just keep your crank turning, and go around slower people.

No sweat!

"Just don't F***ing stop"

2009-08-05 1:22 PM

User image

Expert
Dodge County, MN (out in the corn)