General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike Help Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-08-10 10:01 PM

New user

Subject: Bike Help
I am just getting into triathlon training, but I don't have a bike.  I have been using a stationary bike at my gym.  My family is giving me a lot of heck about buying a bike because they are so expensive.  I tell them that's what bikes cost, but they won't let up.  Is it possible to use a used bike to start off?  I don't want to do that, but I am sick of hearing them complain.  (I really don't know why it's a big deal, anyway.  I'm paying for it.)  Does anyone have any suggestions about what kind of bike to get??  I want a road bike and have been looking in the $600-$800 price range and do not want to go any higher.  I also think I want a women's bike.  I'm not looking to go out and win the race; I just want to have fun and finish.  If anyone has any tips for buying, I would love to hear what you have to say!  Thanks Smile

2009-08-10 10:06 PM
in reply to: #2340376

User image

Champion
Subject: RE: Bike Help
ignoring what the family is saying,

you will get WAY more bike for the money if you look used.

go in and talk to a shop, ask them about fitting, sizes, etc to figure out what you need. sizes will vary a bit from brand to brand just like clothes, and some styles fit diff types of people.

once you have done that, its time to start shopping. if you are looking used, places to check out be the classifieds here and on slowtwitch.com, criagslist, and ask your local shops if they have refurbished sutff (also check ebay).

any of the bigger brands will have high quality bikes, its just a matter of finding the right sizee and one you can affford.
2009-08-11 7:52 AM

User image

Master
Beijing
Hi Abby.