General Discussion Triathlon Talk » swimming recommendations Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-08-22 4:13 PM

Subject: swimming recommendations
Anyone have any recommendations for swim training to improve 1500+ swim times?  Want to get my time from 28 to under 25 for 1500m.  I am already planning on being in the water alot this winter.  Any suggestions are appreciated.  Thanks

2009-08-22 6:49 PM
in reply to: #2364224

User image

Expert
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Subject: RE: swimming recommendations
I'm not any help but can you give me some pointers on get my 1500 time from 35 to 28 minutes? :-)
2009-08-22 9:10 PM

I am no expert in swimming by any means but I think that just being in the water more helps a good amount.  Doing longer swims or swimming more often has been the one thing that has helped me to become more comfortable in the water.  There is also a video on the BT site that describes some principles of open water swimming:
http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/cms/article-detail.asp?articleid=1792

I think the ideas of swimming efficiently are key to being faster in the water.  I just need to find some more specific details on ways to be efficient.

Does anyone participate in a Master's swim group in or around Columbia? How do you join?
2009-08-22 10:48 PM
in reply to: #2364486

Pro
yep,

jaxmwt - 2009-08-22 10:10 PM I am no expert in swimming by any means but I think that just being in the water more helps a good amount.  Doing longer swims or swimming more often has been the one thing that has helped me to become more comfortable in the water.  There is also a video on the BT site that describes some principles of open water swimming:

I think the ideas of swimming efficiently are key to being faster in the water.  I just need to find some more specific details on ways to be efficient.

Does anyone participate in a Master's swim group in or around Columbia? How do you join?