General Discussion Race Reports! » F3Events @ Dorney Lake Classic Triathlon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

F3Events @ Dorney Lake Classic Triathlon - TriathlonOlympic

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Dorney, Berkshire
United Kingdom
F3 Events
19C / 66F
Overcast
Total Time = 2h 36m 47s
Overall Rank = /
Age Group = 35-39
Age Group Rank = 0/
Pre-race routine:

Got woken up by a pair of quarreling cats at 5:50 and they in turn woke Julie. Daddy! Daddyyyyyyy! Up I got and had breakfast with the two little ones while Sandra caught some more Zzzzzzzz! Eventually left for the race at 7:45 and got to the site at 8:15. Got registered and then setup my transition. Dithered a bit about gels etc, which eventually meant I ended up with no fuel on the bike except for water. DOH! I'm still learning in this game.
Event warmup:

A few stretches in transition and then swam to the start line which was about 100m out into the lake.
Swim
  • 29m 53s
  • 1500 meters
  • 01m 59s / 100 meters
Comments:

I put myself on the front line for the start, as we had a very wide line and it worked out great. The hooter went and off went all 400 of us at the same time. Not too much washing machine stuff, as I went off pretty hard to avoid it. Sighted really well on the first lap off the course and kept it steady and actually enjoyed myself. I liked the busy turns around the buoys. Crash! Bang! Wallop! All good fun. The 2nd lap was not so good. I was tiring and my sighting wasn't as good. I was quite happy to be done.
What would you do differently?:

The swim course was definitely long. I've been swimming long enough to know that I wasn't doing that pace. I would have expected 1:45ish pace at the most. Other competitors also felt it was long. Not bothered though. A race is a race. Apart from that I was happy with this given the pathetic swim mileage I've had this year.
Transition 1
  • 02m 35s
Comments: