General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Montana State [CrossFit] Games "Race Report" Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-08-30 9:40 PM

User image

Pro
Helena, MT
Subject: Montana State [CrossFit] Games "Race Report"

There are CrossFit competitions all over the country which accomodate all different levels of athlete. I just wanted to share my experience at one with you all since I know there are a lot of CFers around here. I'm pretty far from a firebreather. I've been doing CF somewhat inconsistently for 3 years now. However I've only been back at it about 3 and a half months after a year+ layoff that included a back injury, a broken foot, then a pregnancy and the postpartum period (my son is 6 months old now).

For details on the competition, go to www.montanastategames.com. There were 3 scaling options available. I was really right between the middle and lowest option in strength and skill. I decided to go ahead and risk looking completely pathetic and just go for the middle option. I decided I could do it, so I would. I'm a fan of biting off more than you can chew, athletically.

WOD #1
800m Run
15 Squat Clean and Jerk, 75 lbs
800m Run

14:56

WOD #2
3 rounds
10 hang squat cleans, 45 lbs
20 Burpees
30 Wallball, 8 lb ball, 10 foot target
120 jump rope (or 40 double unders, but I can't do a double under to save my life)

Hit the 26 min time cutoff with 15 wallballs in the 3rd round.

My first heat was at 9:30 or so and was the first to go. I went out at a slower and steadier pace on the 800, something I knew I could maintain and would leave me with something for the clean and jerks, since 15 reps at 75# was at the very end of my anticipated abilities. At the end of the 800, I was in last place but was about to pass another woman in the last 50m or so. She heard me coming and turned it on at the end. I just maintained my pace. I wasn't about to get in a race in the first 800. Eric said the first 800 took me about 3 min.