General Discussion Triathlon Talk » swimming fatigue question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-09-09 9:37 AM

New user

Subject: swimming fatigue question
I am new at training for a triathalon.  I used to swim on the swim team as kid (I am 37 now, so a long time ago), but over the years I have swim laps to exercise.  My swimming as an adult consisted of about 20 laps, stopping to rest about ever two lengths of the pool, so my stamina needs some work.  I am pretty fit though.  Since my tri training (which I have only been in the pool about 10 times in one month) I have been swimming up to 36 laps (laps I mean one 25 meter length), and again stopping often.  When I start I am only able to swim at most 4 consecutive laps before being fatiqued.  Then I can make it about two laps before having to stop and rest.  I only have to rest about 20 seconds or less.   My question is, is it normal that its taking me this long to get more than four laps under my belt before having to stop?  As mentioned I am in pretty good shape and have had a history of swimming.  Other sports such as mountain biking I do not tire easy.

Thanks, for your help.

Mark

2009-09-09 9:56 AM
in reply to: #2396436

User image

Regular
Subject: RE: swimming fatigue question
What gets tired?

Arms? Legs? Lungs?

I'd hazard a guess that it's down to your breathing, are you breathing out while your head is in the water?
2009-09-09 10:05 AM
in reply to: #2396492

User image

Elite
Gilbert, Az.
rich-racer-uk - 2009-09-09 7:56 AM What gets tired?

Arms? Legs? Lungs?

I'd hazard a guess that it's down to your breathing, are you breathing out while your head is in the water?

x2. Even if you swam on a team as a kid, if you don't really keep it up over the years, you lose both fitness AND form. If you are fatiguing after a few laps, it's most likely either breathing, or you're kicking like a madman.

John
2009-09-09 10:11 AM

New user

Hi, and thanks for the quick replies.