United States
Tri-Maine
Sunny
Total Time = 1h 57m 37s
Overall Rank = 19/29
Age Group =
Age Group Rank = 0/
Pre-race routine:

Had a bagel and cream cheese with coffee. Probably should have had peanut butter but I am not a pro athlete so I went for taste instead.
Event warmup:

I scanned the beautiful Casco Bay horizon, felt a cold shiver up my spine and with a tinge of nostalgia, recited a poem by Thoreau. I forget the name of the poem. All set.
Swim
  • 24m 20s
  • 1640 yards
  • 01m 29s / 100 yards
Comments:

The water was not warm, and the wind was blowing, so I was happy to be wearing the mandatory wetsuit plus a new neoprene cap - if you're going to be swimming in cold water, GET A NEOPRENE CAP that fits properly! It makes a huge difference (going to use the cap in the Hopkinton Season Opener 2010)

I decided to try and do a good but steady pace in the beginning and push it at the end depending on how I felt - the strategy was to breathe every 2nd stroke, left then right, and then step up the pace near the end and breathe on every stroke. Turns out I ran into quite a bit of traffic at the end so I could not swim all out but frankly I don't think it made much difference in total time.
What would you do differently?:

Nothing much. Maybe push just a little bit harder. I wish waves were spaced far enough so that we don't always have to swim over the preceding wave, but I suppose that's the way it is.
Transition 1
  • 03m 46s
Comments:

I did not wear socks, and the wetsuit came off easily... so my transition should have been fast. But it was not. You really want to know why... it's because I freaking doodle with making sure I am comfortable (such as wiping myself off with the towel, cleaning my feet off etc), instead of just getting on with it. Seriously, I just need to get my butt kicked... no excuses!

I don't know how to write a book. But not drying myself off and not putting a jacket on, then deciding to take it off might help. Duh.
Bike
  • 1h 29m 33s